From a thread on LSD

The Pwncologist, M.D.
Full Member

***
Re: Am I screwed? What to do now…?
<>
Reply with quote
Quote from: stradgirl on Today at 12:38:22 AM
LOL

yeah I do like seeing ppl’s actual faces. but I do feel a bit exposed now hahaha *nervous laughter*. Shoot. 😛
Anybody remember that RC passage about online communities? I did that a couple days ago.. I think it was from 2000 or 2001.

Yeah, that was from “The Next 10 Actual, Official LSAT…” I think.

So, do you think online communities facilitate or hinder interaction?

stradgirl
Full Member

***
Re: Am I screwed? What to do now…?
<>
I think the area of contention in that passage lay in whether online communities could substitute geographic communities. I might be remembering incorrectly, though.

I think it hinders interaction in the physical, geographic communities because spending time online definitely cuts down on the actual amount of time and consequently the opportunities for interaction among community members. It’s actually kinda funny we should be discussing this now because –

I was getting tea and a croissant from a cafe across the college building where I was to write my practice test this morning, and there were a few pay-per-hour computers w/ an internet connection in this cafe. A guy who had stood behind me in the line at the counter sat at one of them after paying, waiting for his breakfast order to arrive.. I sat over at another table. Now I thought to myself, instead of him staring at a monitor disconnected from the rest of the world physically surrounding him in the moment, if we were reading the newspaper and a book respectively, how much easier/likelier would it be for us to strike up a conversation? Some sad emotion brushed throught my heart as I walked past his back and out the door. So yeah. A small example but I think it’s really having such a general effect.. even my mom turns on the computer first thing when she comes and it isn’t necessarily that we talked that much more than we do now, but now I see her entering a world completely disconnected from the physical world where we co-exist. It’s a very strange feeling. I say this is the new stage of alienation of the modern man… first alienation from his work/trade due to the Industrial Revolution, and now alienation from his community due to Technology Revolution. God that last bit sucked but you know what I mean.

*sigh*
Man that guy was cute. He should’ve sat next to me and read his paper instead of checkin the news online in the corner. 😛

